History

After being driven out of Sudetenland during the war, Adolf and Josef Kühnl joined forces with Emil Hoyer to found Kühnl & Hoyer in 1948.

The municipality of Markt Erlbach offered the shooting club’s gallery as a workshop for brass instruments. Alongside a few tools, the company’s only seed capital was its traditional expertise in the construction of brass instruments. To begin with, business was limited to the production of piston valve trumpets and brass instrument repairs.

kuehnl-hoyer-geschichte

After the currency reforms, the workshop equipment was updated to incorporate new technological advances. At the same time, the company’s product portfolio grew. In light of a steady increase in musical instrument demand, the workshop was expanded to include a series of cutting-edge production rooms in 1952, without losing sight of the traditional art of instrument crafting. Based on the rapid growth of the company, the first proper production plant was constructed in 1957.

In 1962, Emil Hoyer left the company, and business was continued by Adolf and Josef Kühnl. Today, the company is run by the third generation of the family, Dieter Kühnl.

The company’s portfolio now spans a range of brass instruments, such as trumpets, cornets, flugelhorns, trombones, tenor horns and baritones, in addition to signal and hunting instruments. Every single instrument is produced in the plant in Markt Erlbach.

Traditional expertise of brass instrument construction is combined with the consistent inclusion of industrial know-how and the latest computer-aided measuring and tuning methods to guarantee truly unbeatable quality. Along with traditional instrument crafting techniques, such knowledge has been passed on to countless apprentices since 1949.

kuehnl-hoyer-geschichte-02

Kühnl & Hoyer collaborates with renowned musicians and music educators to develop and adapt new instruments to the requirements of clients.

The latest manufacturing processes and production controls ensure the environmentally-friendly creation of instruments. Every instrument produced by Kühnl & Hoyer is subjected to a comprehensive quality control procedure.

Such claims to high quality have already been proven by the conferral of the German Musical Instrument Award six times.

As a result of collaboration with Professor Branimir Slokar, soloist and teacher, the ‘Slokar’ trombone series was launched in 1995. It is presented by the Slokar Trombone Quartet in its concerts all over the world.

Beginning in 1996, several trombone models suitable for jazz, big band and symphony use were developed in collaboration with the Dutch jazz trombonist and Hilversum Conservatory teacher, Bart van Lier.

kuehnl-hoyer-geschichte-04

With Professor Malte Burba, the Universities of Music Dresden and Mainz, and world-renowned trumpet specialists famous for their concerts and brass workshops, we developed the ‘Malte Burba’ edition. Since 2001, this collaborative project has yielded a range of trumpets and flugelhorns both for universal use and the professional sector.

Constant innovation and our wealth of experience gathered over more than 60 years in instrument construction unite to guarantee the even scale, unmatched responsiveness, good intonation and the finest finishes of our instruments.

Kühnl & Hoyer – tradition, perfection and passion!
Handmade in Germany

Philosophy

A class of their own – not just an empty slogan, but rather our dedicated commitment to producing top-quality brass instruments with an even scale, high responsiveness, good intonation and excellent finishes, proven by the conferral of the German Musical Instrument Award six times over.

In order to ensure that our quality standards remain at the same high level, we place particular importance on the use of top-quality raw materials and the production of instruments by brass instrument experts exclusively in Germany.

Intensive collaboration with internationally-renowned musicians is also at the core of our activity, providing valuable support in the development of new instruments and the optimisation of existing series.

The combination of traditional instrument construction and the passion for perfecting every last detail forms the foundations of our wide-reaching model range. Both amateur and professional musicians find their perfect instrument, with incomparable sound and design properties. Individual client requirements and requests for custom-made solutions are welcome.

Geschichte

Nach Krieg und Vertreibung aus dem Sudetenland wurde Kühnl & Hoyer durch die Herren Adolf und Josef Kühnl sowie Emil Hoyer 1948 gegründet.

Die Gemeinde Markt Erlbach stellte für die Herstellung von Blechblasinstrumenten das Schießhaus der Schützengesellschaft als Fabrikationsstätte zur Verfügung. Das Startkapital der Firma war, neben den spärlich vorhandenen Werkzeugen, das traditionelle Wissen über den Bau von Blechblasinstrumenten. Anfangs wurden nur Trompeten mit Perinetmaschinen hergestellt und Reparaturen an Blechblasinstrumenten durchgeführt.

Kühnl Hoyer Geschichte

Nach der Währungsreform wurde die Betriebseinrichtung dem technischen Fortschritt angepasst. Gleichzeitig wuchs auch die Produktionspalette. Da die Nachfrage an Musikinstrumenten immer weiter anstieg, wurde 1952 die Produktionsstätte durch den Neubau mit technischen anspruchsvollen Fertigungsräumen erweitert, ohne dass dadurch die handwerkliche Instrumentenbaukunst verloren ging. Die starke Expansion machte 1957 einen ersten Anbau an das Betriebsgebäude notwendig.

1962 schied Emil Hoyer aus. Der Betrieb wurde nun von Adolf und Josef Kühnl fortgeführt. Heute wird das Unternehmen in der dritten Generation von Dieter Kühnl als Geschäftsführer geleitet.

Hergestellt werden Blechblasinstrumente, wie Trompeten, Kornette, Flügelhörner, Posaunen, Tenor- und Baritonhörner sowie Signal- und Jagdinstrumente. Alle Instrumente werden im Markt Erlbacher Betrieb gefertigt.

Traditionelles und fundiertes Wissen über den Bau von Blechblasinstrumenten und konsequentes Einbeziehen von industriellem Know-how, mithilfe modernster computergestützter Mess- und Justiermethoden, sichern den hohen Qualitätsstandard. Dieses Wissen, sowie die handwerkliche Instrumentenbaukunst, werden seit 1949 ununterbrochen an Auszubildende weitergegeben.

Kühnl Hoyer Geschichte

Die Entwicklung und Anpassung neuer Instrumente an die Wünsche der Kunden wird von Kühnl &  Hoyer persönlich mit namhaften Musikern und Musikpädagogen durchgeführt.

Modernste Herstellungsverfahren und Fertigungskontrollen gewährleisten eine umweltgerechte Produktion. Jedes Instrument aus der Produktion von Kühnl & Hoyer wird einer umfassenden Qualitätskontrolle unterzogen.

Dieser hohe qualitative Anspruch wurde bereits sechsmal mit der Verleihung des Deutschen Musikinstrumentenpreises bestätigt.

Kühnl Hoyer Geschichte

In Zusammenarbeit mit Professor Branimir Slokar, Solist und Pädagoge, entstand ab 1995 die „Slokar“-Posaunenserie. Diese wird vom „Slokar-Posaunenquartett“ bei ihren Konzerten weltweit präsentiert.

Ab 1996 wurden mehrere Posaunenmodelle, die sowohl für Jazz und Bigband als auch für den symphonischen Einsatz geeignet sind, mit dem holländischen Jazzposaunisten und Dozenten am Konservatorium in Hilversum Bart van Lier entwickelt.

Kühnl Hoyer Geschichte

Mit Professor Malte Burba, Musikhochschulen Dresden und Mainz, weltweit durch Konzerte und Brass-Workshops bekannter Trompeten-Virtuose, entwickelten wir die „Malte Burba“-Edition. Seit 2001 entstehen aus dieser Zusammenarbeit Trompeten und Flügelhörner für die universelle Anwendung sowie für den professionellen Bereich.

Ständige Innovationen und unsere Erfahrung aus über 60 Jahren Instrumentenbautechnik garantieren für ausgeglichene Stimmung, leichte Ansprache, gute Intonation und beste Verarbeitung unserer Instrumente.

Kühnl Hoyer Geschichte

Kühnl & Hoyer – Tradition, Perfektion und Leidenschaft!
Handmade in Germany

Philosophie

Eine Klasse für sich – sind nicht nur vier Worte, sondern unser Bestreben Blechblasinstrumente von höchster Qualität mit ausgeglichener Stimmung, leichter Ansprache, guter Intonation und in bester Verarbeitung zu fertigen, bestätigt durch den sechsmaligen Gewinn des Deutschen Musikinstrumentenpreises.

Kühnl Hoyer Philosophie

Um gleichbleibend hohe Qualität zu erreichen, legen wir besonderen Wert auf Materialien höchster Güte sowie die Fertigung der Instrumente von Metallblasinstrumentenmachern – Gesellen und Meistern zu 100% in Deutschland.

Wichtig ist uns auch die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit international anerkannten und geschätzten Musikern, die zur Entwicklung neuer Instrumente sowie zur Optimierung unserer Instrumente einen großen Beitrag leisten.

So entsteht aus der Kombination von traditionellem Instrumentenbau und der Leidenschaft zur Perfektion für jedes Detail am Instrument unsere reichhaltige Modellpalette. Amateure und Profimusiker finden ihr Instrument mit unverwechselbarem Klang und Design, auch Sonderanfertigungen und individuelle Kundenwünsche werden berücksichtigt.